[Media Use/Effect Paper]

Preschool

I really don’t have much memory about my preschool year. Only thing I could remember is that I used to watch TV program which are made for childrens. (program like sesame street) Other than that I really didn’t watched a TV a lot. (I used to go out side and played with other guys.)

sesame

image of Sesame Street. Back when I was preschooler they used to show this once a week. I could not understand what they were saying but I just watched the show because of their funny movement and colors.

Elementary School

I was in Egypt when I was in elementary school because of my father’s job. And because it was dangerous for foreigner kid to go out alone I spent a lot’s of time watching TVs. Because of the fact I can not understand Arabic my parent subscribed satelite TV and I watched European TV shows.  (it’s not that I understand English or French at that time but my parents thought it was better watch English program than watch Arabian program.)

mac

Image of MacGyver. Used to watch this show a lot when I was in Egypt using satelite TV. I don’t remember the story but one thing I can remember is that Macgyver really used used a lot’s of tools made something weird.

 

Satellite-TV-to-PC-or-Laptop

picture of satelite TV. Think It had more than 700 channels but did not watched it all of them. Only Channel I watched was English channel and channel that was showing animations. Because of these I started show my interest on the animations and movies. Whenever I came back from the school I had nothing to do but watch the TVs and I watched a tons of shows.

Middle School

I was in Indonesia at that time. And just like before because we couldn’t understand Indonesian language so we borrow the video tapes and watched it everyweek. (mostly movies but sometimes recording of korean TVs.) And at one point we bought the computer and subscribed internet services. With it’s amazingly low speed (56kbps) we watched the vod which was on the korean web sites. (it was 1997 so I whink internet was lot fast in Korea but in Indonesia best speed we could get was 56kb per second so it tooks tons of time to just watch 3 minute videos.)

Mission%20Impossible

Image of Mission impossible poster. Although I could not go to the cinema and watched a movie I really liked it when I watched on the VHS. Story was bit hard for me to understand at that time but really liked the action scenes.

vhs

picture of VHS or video tapes. Other than going to the cinema and watch movie it was only way for me to watch movies. Only bad thing about it is that the quality of the video differs from the status of VHS. Because the Video rent store was not located near my house we went there once a week and borrowed 10~15 video tapes at once.

High School

I was in Canada at that time and at there I started part time job at restaurant so I had plenty of money to spend on high quality videos. So I started to collect the DVDs.

Verbatim%20DVD+R%20DL%20Disc

It was cheap and had nice quality of videos.Only bad thing about it was that it was really hard to collect the DVDs in Canada. I was collecting animation DVDs but it took 3~5months to DVDs to come out and there’s only a handfull of mall that sells animation DVD. (there was tons of mall that sells Disney’s animation but that was not what I wanted) I still collect the DVDs but I do not have enough times to watch it so i just stack them on my bookshelves.

Now

After I came back to Korea I didn’t have that much time to spend on the TVs or other kind of media in fact I still did not watched a DVD that I bought one years ago. Now days I only watch the video clips which are uploaded on the Youtube.

youtube_logo

(logo of youtube)

It’s convinent and easy to watch and have a lot’s of contents. And the one thing I really liked about youtube is that you can watch video clips that are unique and hillarious because those are made by the users. And you can make your own videos and can see what people think about it. (by comment left by them) Because of my homeworks and project I use a youtube very frequently. (My second major is Culture content and it requires us to make a video and post it on the webs.)

Anyway that was everything about my media usuage and how it affected me.

Leave a Reply

